Rohit Sharma stars in narrow Mumbai win

West Zone

An allround performance from Rohit Sharma gave Mumbai a narrow two-wicket win over Saurashtra at the Reliance Stadium in Vadodara, and extended their lead at the top of the West Zone points table. Sharma took 4 middle-order wickets for 28 runs, including the key wicket of Ravindra Jadeja, who top scored with 53, as Saurashtra were bowled out for 205 after opting to bat first. Sharma followed up his effort with the ball by making an unbeaten 96 to shepherd Mumbai to their target with six balls to spare. Mumbai were in danger of losing the game after they collapsed to 45 for 5, but Sharma found valuable allies down the order in Siddharth Chitnis, who made a run-a-ball 53, and Dhawal Kulkarni, who made 23, to see his team home.

Baroda got their Vijay Hazare campaign up and running with their first victory, a four-wicket win over Gujarat, at the Alembic ground in Vadodara. Gujarat lost opener Avi Barot early, but Parthiv Patel and Bhavik Thaker kept the scoreboard ticking with a 62-run partnership before Patel was run-out for 46. Thaker was bowled shortly after by Swapnil Singh for 54, and none of the other Gujarat batsmen were able to make more than 30, as Gujarat were bowled out for 232. Opener Jaykishan Kolsawala was the foundation on which Baroda’s successful run-chase was built. He made 93 from 100 balls, with nine fours and two sixes, and though no one else went past 30, it was enough to take Baroda to their target with 7 balls to spare

South Zone

Goa earned their first win of the tournament, beating Kerala by four wickets at the Fort Maidan in Palakkad. Kerala’s total of 222 was built around half-centuries from Robert Fernandez, who made 88, and VA Jagadeesh, who made 51. The pair put on 95 for the second wicket but received little support from the rest of the line-up, with the last 9 wickets falling for 102 runs. Harshad Gadekar was the pick of the bowlers, with 3 for 26. Goa made a solid start to their chase, with Swapnil Asnodkar and Rohit Asnodkar making 60 and 58 respectively, and Shadab Jakati finished the job with a rapid fire from 35 from 26 balls.

A century from Robin Uthappa helped Karnataka complete a six-wicket win over Andhra at the Perintalmanna Cricket Stadium in Malappuram. Andhra posted a total of 293 on the back of 75 from Venugopal Rao and 64 from AG Pradeep, who added 135 for the third wicket. Karnataka lost Ganesh Satish for 2, but Uthappa went after the bowling, making 103 from 70 balls, with 11 fours and five sixes. He was supported by Sunil Raju, who made 73 and Manish Pandey, who made 50, as Karnataka cantered home.

Central Zone

Madhya Pradesh cantered to a 105-run win over Railways at Green Park in Kanpur. Naman Ojha and Mohnish Mishra laid the platform for MP’s score of 245 with a 123-run partnership for the second wicket, with Ojha top scoring with 85 and Mishra making 66. Railways were never in the game, quickly slipping to 45 for 4, and then 66 for 6, as they struggled against the MP bowlers. The tail provided some resistance but it was never going to be enough, and they were bundled out for 140. Ankit Sharma finished with 3 for 29 and TP Sudhindra 2 for 16.

Uttar Pradesh handed Rajasthan their third straight defeat in the tournament at the Kamla Club Sports Ground in Kanpur. Having chosen to bat, Rajasthan opener Dishant Yagnik made a patient 101, and Vaibhav Deshpande chipped in with 53, but no one else made more than 16, as they finished with 222 for 8. Tanmay Srivastava (89) and Parvinder Singh (84) then made sure of the game, adding 174 for the second wicket, as UP coasted home in less than 40 overs.


Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment. for Live cricket updates, Sports Highlights, Cricket Videos, Online Schedule & Scorecard. Watch Live Cricket Streaming - Online Match Stream | Live Cricket Matches

CBN Live Cricket | Cricket Plus Live | Zee Sports Live | Live Ten Sports | Neo Sports Live | | | | | |