England Cricket Team Biography & T20, ODI, Test Statistics

England Team Biography & History

The England Cricket Team is the national cricket team which represents England and Wales. Since 1 January 1997, it has been governed by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) having been previously governed by the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) from 1903 until the end of 1996. England, along with Australia, was the first team to be granted Test status on 15 March 1877 and gained full membership to the International Cricket Council (ICC) on 15 June 1909. It also took part in the first ever one-day international (ODI) against Australia on 5 January 1971, while its first Twenty20 match occurred on 13 June 2005 with its opponents being Australia again. The logo of the England Cricket Team shows the three Lions of England below a five-pointed crown. England has been the birthplace of cricket. Ironically, though, its teams have faltered when it comes to the big occasions. Runners-up in three Cricket World Cups – 1979, 1987 and 1992, England is currently ranked seventh in the ICC ODI rankings. England has had a distinguished roster of cricketers over the years. The likes of WG Grace, Geoffrey Boycott, Mike Brearley, Tony Greig, Ian Botham, Bob Willis, David Gower, Graham Gooch and Nasser Hussain among others have given English cricket its own classic flavour. The current team has separate captains for the Test and ODI squads. Michael Vaughan leads the charge in Tests but has been injury-prone over the years and has found himself outside the team more often than in it. Paul Collingwood has taken over the reins of the ODI squad and has proven to be a capable leader. Among the present-day cricketers, mention must be made of the talents of Andrew Flintoff, Monty Panesar, Steve Harmison and Matthew Hoggard. Peter Moores was given the job of Head Coach on 1 May 2007 following the resignation of Duncan Fletcher after a poor 2007 Cricket World Cup campaign. He subsequently employed former Zimbabwean cricketer Andy Flower as assistant coach.

England has never won the ICC CWC but it has been the losing finalist on three occasions.
It is the only side to have lost back-to-back finals – in 1987 and 1992.
England has not made it past the group stages of the competition since 1996.
Kevin Pietersen is the only England player in ICC CWC history to have made two centuries – they came against Australia and West Indies in 2007.
Ian Botham is the leading wicket-taker in ICC CWC history for England – he has claimed 30 victims.
Alec Stewart has made the most ICC CWC appearances for England – he has made 25 appearances.
Vic Marks is the only player to have taken five wickets in an innings for England during a CWC match (v Sri Lanka, 1983).

Rankings:  ODI – 5th, Test – 3rd

England Record Test

The above stats are as per date of this post.

England Record ODI

The above stats are as per date of this post.

England Record T20

The above stats are as per date of this post.

Please Give your comments regarding Team Biography and Records.


Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

LiveCricket.pk for Live cricket updates, Sports Highlights, Cricket Videos, Online Schedule & Scorecard. Watch Live Cricket Streaming - Online Match Stream | Live Cricket Matches

CBN Live Cricket | Cricket Plus Live | Zee Sports Live | Live Ten Sports | Neo Sports Live | | | | | |